We offer FREE UK mainland delivery on orders over £40. More info...

The Vegan Diet - What Is It & Who Is It Suitable For?

December 05, 2014 2 Comments

The Vegan Diet - What Is It & Who Is It Suitable For?

What is the vegan diet?

Vegans do not eat animal products, not only meat but also eggs, dairy products and other animal-derived substances such as honey. All Clearspring foods are Vegan.

There are many reasons for going Vegan, from animal compassion, to concern for the environment, to good health. A common misconception however is that going Vegan is about sacrifice — the cutting out of things that you used to eat. In reality it opens up a new way of thinking about how you interact with the world. You immediately discover a whole new abundance of foods, shops and recipes to try.

Who is it suitable for? (And who- if there's anyone- can NOT do it?)

Anyone can follow a vegan diet as long as they make sure that they include all the food groups: plant proteins, good fats, whole grains and plenty of fresh fruit & vegetables In fact research has indicated a vegan diet tends to be higher in dietary fibre, magnesium, folic acid, vitamin C, vitamin E and iron and lower in calories, saturated fat, cholesterol and long-chain omega-3 fatty acids. However researchers have also suggested that vegans should eat B12-fortified foods (such as silken tofu and fortified breakfast cereals) or take vitamin supplements.

What are the best tips & rules for starting it?

Download our Vegan Essential Checklist for some great tips

There are two approaches to going vegan. You can either simply replace your current meat or dairy products with vegan alternatives such as tofu, soya or nut milks. For example if you have yoghurt and granola for breakfast simply substitute the yoghurt for a soya yoghurt or if you drink tea with milk you could replace the milk with a rice milk. Alternatively you could decide to completely change your diet by simply changing what you have for breakfast or decide to drink a completely different type of tea such as a green tea or ginger tea which does not require the addition of any kind of milk.

There are no right or wrong ways you simply need to try out different approaches and find the one that suits you best.

2 Responses


January 26, 2016

Hi Tara,

I do not know why the ClearSpring team did not answer to you yet. But I’ll give them a hand.
For example to replace the gelatine you will find in the Cleaspring list the agar-agar. You can do many stuff with it.

For sure you can find online a lot of resources regarding your question and there also is a book:

Celine Steen: The Complete Guide to Vegan Food Substitutions: Veganize It! Foolproof Methods for Transforming Any Dish Into a Delicious New Vegan Favorite

Unfortunately not all of the substitution alternatives presented in the book are 100% natural.
What you have to keep in mind: when you veganize “normal” recipes rarely you can have a 100% match regarding colour, taste, texture and all the other factors altogether. But you can get very close.

That’s a good start to veganize the usual recipes.But this will be just at the beginning.
What is the most important I think is to shift your diet to new recipes and new type of foods.
You will find it easier in time.
You just have to let go to your power of imagination and to the inner chef and you can amaze your friends, family and others not only yourself.

Just give it a try!

Best of luck!

Tara. Chandarana
Tara. Chandarana

May 15, 2015

very useful information about vegan diet . I am a “vigan” but I still have normal milk& veg cheese . Can u please keep me informed of any new recepies & other use useful tips to substitute for gelatine, & eggs ect for some baking . Thanks a lot

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.

Also in From the Blog

Gluten-Free & Wheat-Free: What’s the Difference?
Gluten-Free & Wheat-Free: What’s the Difference?

April 03, 2017

Today we are increasingly hearing terms such as gluten intolerance, wheat allergy and coeliac disease. On top of this, the words wheat and gluten are often used interchangeably too, even though there is a very clear difference between the two substances. So what do they actually mean and how are they different?

Continue Reading

What are Ancient Grains?
What are Ancient Grains?

December 07, 2016

There is no official definition of ancient grains but it is widely accepted to mean grains which have remained unchanged for several hundreds of years. As opposed to more widespread cereals such as corn, rice and modern varieties of wheat, which are the product of thousands of years of selective breeding.

Continue Reading

A Watershed For Organic?
A Watershed For Organic?

May 18, 2016

I keep telling people that this spring has been is an exciting time for organic, but then organic is always exciting from my perspective. 2016 however has seen the alignment of some critical factors – some new, some- not so new – which create conditions ripe for further growth in organic.

Continue Reading